Class 11

Political Science ,Notes

Chapter 5

Legislature

- In India, the parliamentary form of government is adopted at the centre by adopting bicameral legislature.
- The legislature helps people in holding the representatives accountable.
- In India, there are two houses of parliament Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.
- The Lower House of Parliament is called the Lok Sabha which consists of 545 members.
- The members of the Lok Sabha are called Members of Parliament (MPs), who are elected on the basis of universal adult franchise.
- Two Anglo-Indians are nominated by the president if he feels that Anglo-Indians have not been represented suitably in the parliament.
- The Lok Sabha has a speaker who presides over its session.
- The Upper House of Parliament is called the Rajya Sabha having 250 members out of which 238 are elected by State Legislative Assemblies and 12 members are nominated by the President.